Contact us

If you have any queries or comments, please contact us:

Tel: 02 8396 3800 Fax: 02 8396 3816 Email:
Building Location SSROC (Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils Inc.)
Level 7
1 Lawson Square
Redfern NSW 2016
Postal SSROC
PO Box 3138
Redfern LPO NSW 2016
Send a message via this website
Header Image

Member Councils

Bayside Council
Stretching from Hillsdale the in the East to Bexley in the West and along Botany Bay down to Sandringham. Home to Sydney Airport and the Port of Botany Bayside, located south of the Sydney CBD, is the world’s gateway to Sydney and much of New South Wales.

The area is divided between large commercial and industrial areas. Covering 55 square kilometers and an approximate population of 156, 500. Suburban areas of Carlton, Arncliffe and San Souci sit alongside rapidly growing communities in Wolli Creek, Turella, Mascot and Roseberry with constantly evolving cultural and dining options. Beaches at Brighton Le Sands and Ramsgate are complemented by areas of natural bush conservation along Bardwell Valley.

Burwood Council
Burwood Council is situated in the inner western suburbs of Sydney and is 7.26 square kilometres in size. Burwood is a vibrant and cosmopolitan area with mixed residential and commercial areas. Its population is approximately 36,053.

Canterbury-Bankstown Council
One of the largest Local Government Areas in New South Wales the City of Canterbury Bankstown Council provides a range of services and facilities for residents, visitors and businesses. Spanning 110 square km and with approximately 350,983 residents the LGA is a incredibly diverse community with over 200 nationalities and more than 60 languages spoken.

A growing area that tempers its historical sites with flourishing business hubs and significant bushland sites is home to vibrant communities from Greece, and Lebanon to Korea in Bankstown, Lakemba, Earlwood and Campsie and strongly represented by the Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs NRL club.

City of Canada Bay
This culturally diverse community is located in the inner west of Sydney and offers extensive parkland and recreational facilities around 35km of foreshore on the Parramatta River. Canada Bay Council visualises a city that is innovative, dynamic and sustainable through active partnership with the community and the environment.

The population for the City of Canada Bay is approximately 87,480 covering an area of 20 square kilometres.

City of Sydney
Taking in the Sydney CBD and its surrounding suburbs, the City of Sydney is the commercial, financial and cultural centre of the greater Sydney area. The City is home to approximately 198,331 residents, on average 437,000 workers and more than 480,000 daily visitors.

The City of Sydney covers an area of 27 square kilometres.

Georges River Council
Covering much of the St George council area
the combined area of the new Georges River Council spans 43 square kilometres and has a total population of around 150,000 residents. Georges River Council includes one of Sydney’s eight regional centres, with dynamic economic growth, a proud sporting legacy, and broad cultural diversity. The natural beauty of the region, with its extensive bushland along the Georges River, is complemented by the beauty of our parks and waterways.

With one of the fastest growing populations in New South Wales, the area is home to Hurstville, rapidly becoming Sydney’s major satellite city in the southwest. Home to a highly diverse community with 41.5% of residents born overseas.

Inner West Council
Inner West Council covers approximately 186,000 residents and an area of 36 square km from Balmain in the North, Newtown in the East, Tempe in the South and Croydon in the West.

The council area is home to a highly diverse community that is reflected in the culinary excellence of Haberfield and Leichardt’s little Italy, the authentic Chinese and Vietnamese restaurants found in Ashfield and Marrickville and the Portuguese community in Petersham.

These influences combine with contemporary cultural and retail precincts in Newtown’s King Street, Enmore Road and Balmain’s Darling Street. The area is defined by its strong communities, its villages and strong local identity.

Randwick City Council
East of the Sydney CBD, Randwick City borders Botany Bay to the south and the Pacific Ocean to the east. Predominantly residential with retail and commercial pockets, Randwick City is home to the University of New South Wales, one of Sydney’s major higher educational institutions.

The population for Randwick City Council is approximately 143,776 covering an area of 36 square kilometres.

Sutherland Shire Council
Sutherland Shire is located on the southern coastal edge of metropolitan Sydney and is one of the largest council areas by population in Australia. The geography of the Shire includes beaches, wetlands, bays and rivers, through to tablelands dissected by deep river valleys and gorges.

The population for Sutherland Shire Council is approximately 225,070 covering an area of 369 square kilometres.

Waverley Council
Waverley Council, home to Australia’s most famous beach, Bondi, is situated about seven kilometers from the Sydney CBD. Famous for its surfing and coastal walks, the Waverley Municipality has become a meeting place for tourists and locals alike.

The population for Waverley Council is approximately 71,769 covering an area of nine square kilometres.

Woollahra Municipal Council
Woollahra Municipality is situated 10 minutes east of the Sydney CBD and offers views of Sydney Harbour, open spaces and parklands, some of Australia’s most significant historical buildings, and commercial, residential and retail diversity.

The population for the Woollahra Municipality is approximately 58,619 covering an area of 12 square kilometres.