Welcome to the website of the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (SSROC). SSROC is an association of 11 Sydney councils serving large and diverse communities, working to address the challenges and fully utilise the opportunities of metropolitan living.

Member Councils

The SSROC Board

The Board of SSROC is made up of two councillors, or Delegates, from each member council, usually the Mayor and Deputy Mayor. Each year, the Board elects the SSROC Executive, which comprises a President and two Vice Presidents, and the chairs of the two SSROC Committees. The Board meets quarterly and sets and monitors the annual work plan for the organisation.

The Secretariat

Under the leadership of the General Manager, a team of staff undertakes the work of SSROC. The Secretariat initiates and chairs Working Groups of council staff based on the needs identified in the SSROC work plan, and also makes use of consultants for specialised work that is outside the expertise of the permanent staff.


SSROC Executive

The three members of the SSROC Executive are elected each year by the Board at the Annual General Meeting. The President chairs the quarterly Board meetings, carries out any representative duties, and in consultation with the other Executive members, makes policy decisions between meetings.

The Senior and Junior Vice Presidents deputise for the President when required, chair the SSROC Committees and participate in Executive decision-making.

Cr John Faker

SSROC President, Mayor Burwood Council

Cr Khal Asfour

SSROC Senior Vice President, Mayor Canterbury-Bankstown Council

Cr Susan Wynne

SSROC Junior Vice President, Woollahra Council

SSROC Constitution

Constitution of the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils


The Board of SSROC comprises two councillors delegated from the following member councils: Bayside Council, Burwood Council, Canterbury Bankstown Council, City of Canada Bay, City of Sydney, Georges River Council, Inner West Council, Randwick City Council, Sutherland Shire Council, Waverley Council, Woollahra Municipal Council.
These councils are also entitled to nominate two additional councillors as alternate delegates.

Bayside Council

Delegates: Cr Bill Saravinovski, Cr Michael Nagi
Alternates: Cr Liz Barlow, Cr Ed McDougall

Burwood Council

Delegates: Cr John Faker (SSROC President), Cr Ernest Chan
Alternates: Cr George Mannah, Cr Heather Crichton

City of Canada Bay

Delegates: Cr Angelo Tsirekas, Cr Marian Parnaby
Alternates: Cr Michael Megna, Cr Charles Jago

Canterbury Bankstown Council

Delegates:  Cr Khal Asfour (SSROC Senior Vice President), Cr Clare Raffan
Alternates: Cr Nadia Saleh, Cr Linda Eisler

Georges River Council

Delegates:  Cr Kevin Greene, Cr Stephen Agius
Alternates: Cr Nick Katris, Cr Vince Badalati, Cr Rita Kastanias, Cr Con Hindi

Inner West Council

Delegates: Cr Darcy Byrne, Cr Rochelle Porteous
Alternates: Cr Lucille McKenna, Cr John Stamolis

Randwick City Council

Delegates: Cr Dylan Parker, Cr Alexandra Luxford
Alternates: Cr Anthony Andrews, Cr Christie Hamilton

City of Sydney

Delegates: Cr Jess Miller, Cr Christine Forster
Alternates: Cr Robert Kok, Cr Craig Chung

Sutherland Shire Council

Delegates: Cr Steve Simpson, Cr Jack Boyd
Alternates: Cr Michael Forshaw

Waverley Council

Delegates: Cr Paula Masselos, Cr Elaine Keenan
Alternates: Cr George Copeland

Woollahra Municipal Council

Delegates: Cr Susan Wynne (SSROC Junior Vice President), Cr Mark Silcocks

SSROC Annual Report


SSROC has two Committees to oversee its work in key areas. The Committees meet quarterly and are chaired by the Senior and Junior Vice Presidents. The areas of responsibility are:

Program Delivery Committee

Asset Management
Public Works
Waste Management
SSROC Financial Reports

Sustainability Program Committee

Regional Planning
Environmental Management
Transport Planning and Management
Community Development

Working Groups

Learn More