Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils

SSROC is an association of 12 member councils serving large and diverse communities, working to address the challenges and fully utilise the opportunities of metropolitan living

History of SSROC

On 27 August 1986, Sutherland Council called a meeting to express its concern with regional planning mechanisms being imposed on local government without consultation. Elected representatives from Rockdale, Hurstville, Kogarah, Marrickville, Canterbury and Sutherland Councils attended the meeting.

A discussion paper prepared by Sutherland Council stated:

“The need for a regional organisation of councils in the Botany Bay region has never been more apparent.

“The Botany Bay region has much of its employment tied up in declining sectors, and has a disproportionate share of hazardous and offensive industry. It has some of the lowest environmental standards in the metropolis and serious social problems.

“The only way these problems will be addressed is through effective lobbying at the State and Federal levels.”

The six Councils in attendance resolved to form the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils to represent those at the meeting, as well as Bankstown, Botany and Randwick Councils.


The Board of SSROC is made up of two councillors, or Delegates, from each member council, usually the Mayor and Deputy Mayor. Each year, the Board elects the SSROC Executive, which comprises a President and two Vice Presidents, and the chairs of the two SSROC Committees. The Board meets quarterly and sets and monitors the annual work plan for the organisation.

The Secretariat

Under the leadership of the Chief Executive Officer, a team of staff undertakes the work of SSROC. The Secretariat initiates and chairs Working Groups of council staff based on the needs identified in the SSROC work plan, and also makes use of consultants for specialised work that is outside the expertise of the permanent staff.

Constitution of the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils